It’s been awhile since a player from the B1G has hoisted the Heisman Trophy into the air at the end of the season. And, unfortunately for the league, it will have to wait at least one more year before the conference gets its chance to snap that ugly streak.

On Christmas Eve, the finalists for the 2020 Heisman Trophy were revealed. Four standouts in college football were named finalists this year, none of which came from the B1G. Here’s the list:

  • Mac Jones, QB, Alabama
  • DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama
  • Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson
  • Kyle Trask, WR, Florida

The only candidate the B1G had who was considered a serious contender this year was Ohio State QB Justin Fields. Because of the B1G’s limited number of games — the Buckeyes played 6 — Fields didn’t have much of a chance to prove he belonged in the conversation.

A B1G player has not claimed the Heisman Trophy since Ohio State QB Troy Smith won the award following the 2006 season. This will mark the 14th straight season a B1G player has not been recognized as the best player in the sport.

We’ll see if that drought finally stops during the 2021 football season.