Two players from the Big Ten are finalists for the Rimington Trophy

Iowa’s Tyler Linderbaum and Ohio State’s Josh Myers join Alabama’s Landon Dickerson as finalists for the award. The Rimington Trophy is “presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football.”

On Linderbaum, the trophy committee raved about the Iowa center:

Under his leadership, the offensive line led the way for sophomore running back Tyler Goodson to rank second in the Big Ten in rushing yards. Linderbaum was named first-team All-Big Ten by Big Ten media and the AP and first-team All-America by Pro Football Focus. Iowa has had two previous finalists:  Bruce Nelson in 2002 and Austin Blythe in 2015.

The write-up on Myers was equally positive from the Rimington committee:

He’s helped the Buckeyes to a Top 5 national ranking, and first in the Big Ten, in rushing with 275.7 yards per game, an average that includes three consecutive 300-plus yard games the last three games and a per game average of 342.0 during that streak. Myers also is a leader of an Ohio State offense that is the only offense in the Power Five that averages at least 250 yards rushing and passing per game.

The trophy will be handed-out at the Home Depot College Football Awards on January 7, 2021.