The Wooden Award has released its 50-man preseason watch list for the upcoming season.

One of the most prestigious honors in college basketball, the Wooden Award will be presented in April to the national player of the year. The preseason list released Tuesday was chosen by a poll of national college basketball experts. No other conference had more representation than the Big Ten, which placed 10 players.

Illinois, Michigan, and Purdue each have multiple players on the list. Kofi Cockburn (Illinois) and Hunter Dickinson (Michigan) are on it as 2021 Wooden Award All-Americans.

Players not chosen to the preseason list are still eligible for the Wooden Award midseason and late-season lists as well as for the National Ballot. The National Ballot consists of the top 15 players. The Wooden Award All American Team will be announced the week of the Elite Eight and the winner of the 2022 John R. Wooden Award will be revealed after the NCAA Tournament in April.

The list includes:

  • Kofi Cockburn, Illinois
  • Andre Curbelo, Illinois
  • Hunter Dickinson, Michigan
  • Caleb Houstan, Michigan
  • Eric Ayala, Maryland
  • Trevion Williams, Purdue
  • Jaden Ivey, Purdue
  • Ron Harper Jr., Rutgers
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana
  • E.J. Liddell,  Ohio State