Illinois punctuated a weekend sweep of Purdue with a bit of history!

On Sunday afternoon, three Illini pitchers combined to no-hit the Boilermakers, producing the 11th no-hitter in program history. It is the first no-hitter for Illinois since 1985.

The three pitchers going for the Illini were Riley Gowens, Ryan O’Hara, and Cole Kirschsieper. Kellen Sarver produced the lone RBI in the game as Illinois won the game 1-0.

The star of the game was Gowens who started and went seven dominant innings for Illinois. He issued four walks but struck out six without a hit before O’Hara and Kirschsieper closed out the deal.

The shutout was preserved in the bottom of the eighth with a wild double play. After a dropped third strike on a punchout by O’Hara, the Boilermakers tried to score from third on the throw to first. A strike to the plate and a bang-bang tag ended the inning: