Illinois has announced its team captains for the 2020 season with less than a week until kickoff.

Saturday afternoon, the Fighting Illini revealed that five players have earned the honor to be called a team captain for the 2020 season. Representing Illinois this fall will be two defensive players, two offensive players and a specialist.

Here are the Illinois team captains for the 2020 season:

  • Brandon Peters, QB
  • Jake Hansen, LB
  • Nate Hobbs, DB
  • Doug Kramer Jr., OL
  • Blake Hayes, P

Illinois is coming off its best season of the Lovie Smith era, finishing the 2019 campaign with a 6-7 record. The Fighting Illini earning a bid to the Redbox Bowl thanks to an upset win over Wisconsin and a 25-point comeback victory over Michigan State.

Many believe this year has the potential to be the best since Smith has arrived, as Illinois has its most experienced and talented roster.

The Fighting Illini open the year on the road against Wisconsin, playing the Badgers on Friday, Oct. 23.