Griffin Oakes might’ve had a reason to complain.

The IU kicker had his overtime boot sail over the upright, which made it a judgment call for the Pinstripe Bowl official. The ruling that the kick was no good sent a confused Oakes into a minor frenzy.

He confronted the officials and appeared to have begged for a review. Upon a review, they could’ve ruled that the kick was good, which would’ve pushed the game into double overtime. But by NCAA rule, kicks above the goalpost cannot be reviewed.

Still, the first-team All-B1G selection didn’t take any parting shots at the refs or the rulebook following the crushing end to the season.

He delivered this message via Twitter:

Despite the late struggles, Oakes will be one of the top returning kickers in the nation in 2016.