VINE: Snapshot shows IU might've been robbed on final kick
IU kicker Griffin Oakes thought he’d hit the kick that was going to send IU to double overtime of the Pinstripe Bowl.
Oakes’ kick had plenty of leg. In fact, it had too much, which is why IU lost.
It sailed above the goal post, which led to a chaotic frenzy on the field. The ref ruled it was no good, and Oakes pleaded his case to the refs.
But apparently a kick above the goal post is not reviewable.
If it was reviewable, the refs would’ve seen this:
— ESPN CollegeFootball (@ESPNCFB) December 27, 2015
Either way, it’s about time that either the goal posts are raised or reviews in that situation are allowed.