Tom Allen has swept the conference’s annual coach of the year awards.

In voting announced on Thursday, Allen won the Dave McClain Coach of the Year (as voted on by the media) and the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year (coaches). Indiana has had a tremendous season at 6-1 and No. 7 in the latest AP Top 25 Poll, having risen up a spot.

It is the first time in over three decades that a Hoosiers head coach has been named the conference coach of the year.


ESPN BET is now live in Indiana

Use promo code SATURDAY to get your $250 bonus


Indiana is on an upward trajectory under Allen, now in his fourth full season with the program. The Hoosiers finished last season at 8-5 and No. 24 in the final AP Poll following a loss to Tennessee in the Gator Bowl.

After finishing below .500 his first two seasons with the program, Indiana is trending up under Allen, leading to speculation that he could be leaving Bloomington for a bigger program.

He has done a tremendous job for a program not known as being among the best in the Big Ten let alone nationally ranked. Indiana last finished the season ranked in the AP Poll in 1994.