Seven former Iowa student-athletes are set to be inducted into the school’s Athletics Hall of Fame this year, and one of those is former football defensive standout Leroy Smith.

On Tuesday, the University of Iowa announced that Smith will be one of seven former Hawkeye standout student-athletes to be inducted into the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame as members of the 31st class. The athletes will be inducted at an event on Friday, Aug. 30, 2019.

Smith was a varsity letter winner for the Iowa football team from 1989-91. He was a consensus first-team All-American in 1991, winning B1G Defensive Player of the Year and B1G Defensive Lineman of the Year awards. He was also a first-team All-B1G selection.

In 1991, Smith registered 18 sacks, which set a school and B1G record. He registered five sacks in a 16-9 victory over Ohio State in Columbus that season, as well.

Along with Smith, six other former Iowa student-athletes will be inducted into the Hall of Fame:

  • Jeremy Allen, Track & Field (1998-2001)
  • Deb Brickey, Field Hockey (1982-85)
  • Eric Juergens, Wrestling (1998-2001)
  • Marc Long, Men’s Swimming (1987-89)
  • Diane Pohl, Softball (1989-92)
  • Tangela Smith, Women’s Basketball (1994-98)