Iowa is bringing back a familiar face this Friday. The Hawkeyes announced former assistant coach Reese Morgan will serve as an honorary captain against Nebraska at Kinnick Stadium.

Morgan was on the Iowa staff for 19 years before retiring in 2019. He coached mostly offensive and defensive lines during his tenure. Morgan also was Iowa’s recruiting coordinator and tight ends coach from 2000-2002.

Iowa enjoyed great success under Morgan. The Hawkeyes compiled a 151-91 during and earned a share of two B1G titles (2002/2004) over his near two-decade career. In addition, Iowa appeared in 11 January bowl games and 16 overall during his tenure.

Players under his leadership included Robert Gallery, Brandon Scherff, and Dallas Clark. Clark won the Mackey Award in 2002 and went on to play 11 seasons in the National Football League. Gallery was the second overall pick by the Raiders in the 2004 NFL Draft while Scherff is currently with the Jacksonville Jaguars. Overall, 13 players under Morgan went on to play in the NFL.

Iowa is currently 7-3 (5-3 B1G) west. The Hawkeyes still have a path to win the division and reach the B1G title game in Indianapolis.