Iowa defensive end A.J. Epenesa has been named a finalist for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year award. There are five candidates who made the final cut for the honor.

The award is presented annually to the most outstanding college football player of the Polynesian ancestry that epitomizes great ability and integrity.

The finalists for the award are:

  • Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Alabama
  • A.J. Epenesa, DE, Iowa
  • Penei Sewell, OL, Oregon
  • Bradlee Anae, DL, Utah
  • Julian Blackmon, DB, Utah

Epenesa has collected 13 tackles for loss and nine sacks this season, while forcing three fumbles and breaking up three passes. He’s totaled 45 tackles, as well.

Iowa finished the 2019 season with one of the nation’s top defenses on the way to a 9-3 record. The Hawkeyes will take on USC in the Holiday Bowl.