Iowa linebacker Josey Jewell has been named one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded to the best defensive player in college football. The announcement was released on Wednesday morning.

Jewell is the only B1G defender to be tabbed as a finalist for the award.

Through 10 games this season, Jewell has recorded 104 tackles, 9.5 stops for loss and 2.5 sacks. He’s also recorded an interception, a forced fumble, a fumble recovery and handful of quarterback hurries and pass break-ups this year.

Jewell has recorded over 100 tackles each of the last three seasons and will be remembered as one of the toughest defenders in Hawkeyes history.

He’s just the second Hawkeye to be named a finalist, joining Pat Angerer who was nominated in 2009. The other four finalists are Minkah Fitzpatrick (Alabama), Bradley Chubb (NC State), Ed Oliver (Houston) and Roquan Smith (Georgia).

The winner will be announced at The Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 4, 2017.