Iowa’s Joe Wieskamp has been named one of five finalists for the Jerry West Award, presented to the nation’s top shooting guard in college basketball. The list of finalists was released on Tuesday.

The five finalists for the award this season are:

  • Quentin Grimes, Houston
  • Chris Duarte, Oregon
  • Joel Ayayi, Gonzaga
  • Macio Teague, Baylor
  • Joe Wieskamp, Iowa

Wieskamp has been a critical piece of Iowa’s success during the 2020-21 season. He’s averaging 15.3 points per game, good enough for the second-highest on the team, behind only star Luka Garza. He’s also averaging 6.9 rebounds and 1.6 assists per contest on the year.

Efficiency has been Wieskamp’s greatest strength throughout the season, shooting an impressive 50.2% from the floor this year, which includes a 49.6% success rate from behind the 3-point line. He’s also shooting just under 70% from the free throw line.

A winner for the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee, per a release.

The last B1G shooting guard to win the award was Purdue’s Carsen Edwards, who received the honor in 2018.