Announced via a press release on Wednesday, Nate Stanley, quarterback for the No. 19 Iowa Hawkeyes, was named one of 10 finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

Bryan Moss-Namowicz, publisher of, shared the full list of nominees on Twitter:

First awarded in 1987, the Golden Arm Award is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding senior or redshirt junior quarterback.

Two B1G quarterbacks have received the honor before: Wisconsin’s Scott Tolzien in 2010 and Michigan State’s Connor Cook in 2015. Nebraska’s Tommie Frazier won the award in 1995, but the Cornhuskers were still members of the Big Eight Conference at the time.

A three-star in the 2016 class, Stanley was a product of Menomonie High School in Wisconsin. Appearing in five games as C.J. Beathard’s backup as a freshman, he took over the starting job in 2017 and has not missed a game since.

Stanley ranks fourth in program history in passing yards (7,296) and second in touchdown passes (62).

Sitting at 6-2 on the season, the Hawkeyes are idle on Saturday before facing No. 18 Wisconsin in Madison on November 9 (4:00PM ET, FOX).