Iowa linebacker Josey Jewell has been named the Lott IMPACT Trophy winner. The award is presented annually to college football’s defensive best in character and performance.

Jewell was awarded the trophy on Sunday evening.

Jewell was a multi-week Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week in 2017 for outstanding individual performances. For the past two seasons, the Hawkeye has been considered one of the top linebackers in the B1G and college football.

Last week, Jewell was named a First-Team All-American by multiple media sites.

Jewell led the B1G in tackles this season, racking up 125 stops. He also had 13.5 tackles for loss, 11 pass break-ups and two interceptions. The Hawkeyes finished the year 7-5.

With Jewell winning the Lott IMPACT Trophy, the B1G has been home to the award’s past three winners. Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers won in 2016 and Penn State’s Carl Nassib was presented the award in 2015.