Karson Sharar's targeting penalty officially overturned following NCAA review
Karson Sharar’s targeting penalty from last Saturday’s contest against Minnesota has been officially overturned following a review by the NCAA.
The penalty came at the end of the first half on a Golden Gophers kick return. It was not originally called on the field, but after a review, it was called targeting. Sharar was disqualified from the remainder of Iowa’s game due to the call.
No targeting foul on Karson Sharar during the Iowa-Minnesota game, per the NCAA Coordinator of Officials.
Here’s my view of the play that was ruled targeting after a review – and Kirk Ferentz’s on-field reaction to the call. pic.twitter.com/EV8AOJuqQV
— Mitch Fick (@MCFick) October 26, 2023
The NCAA Coordinator of Officials released a statement regarding the matter on Thursday.
ESPN BET is now live in Iowa
Use promo code SATURDAY to get your $250 bonus
“The NCAA Coordinator of Officials has overturned the University of Iowa’s appeal regarding a targeting personal foul on sophomore Karson Sharar during the first half of the Minnesota-lowa football game on Oct. 21,” the statement said. “Sharar tackled Minnesota’s Quentin Redding on a kickoff return with 43 seconds remaining in the first half and was disqualified for the remainder of the contest. After review, it was determined Sharar did not target with the crown of the helmet and he subsequently should not have been disqualified.”
The same replay crew called back Cooper DeJean’s game-winning touchdown in the second half.
The Hawkeyes lost the game 12-10, and the news that Sharar should not have been called for targeting just adds salt to the wound for Iowa fans.
This week, Iowa will get a bye week before taking on Northwestern at Wrigley Field to begin the November slate.