Jake Butt was arguably the most reliable target in the B1G.

Rarely did the Michigan senior drop a pass, and rarely was he shut down for an entire game. He also was a big part of the Wolverines’ ground game as a blocker.

As a result, Butt earned an impressive honor.

On Wednesday, Butt earned the Mackey Award, given annually to the nation’s top tight end. The first-team All-B1G selection beat out the likes of Alabama’s O.J. Howard and Clemson’s Jordan Leggett.

“It’s a great honor first and foremost, especially for this team,” Butt said in a statement. “One thing Coach Harbaugh says, ‘A rising tide raises all ships.’ So it’s great to win this award. I want to thank the guys in this group; this is our award, really it’s not a one-man award.

“I really thank everyone on this team, this coaching staff, my position coach Jay Harbaugh, my family and everyone that’s helped me achieve this great award. I’m really appreciative of that.”

RELATED: Jabrill Peppers wins Hornung Award for college football’s most-versatile player

The last time a B1G player to win the Mackey Award was Matt Spaeth back in 2006.

Butt was second among Power Five tight ends with 43 catches. He also racked up 508 yards and four touchdowns in a loaded group of pass-catchers. His 135 receptions for 1,618 yards in his career are both tops for a Michigan tight end.

A first-team All-American in 2015, Butt returned to Michigan instead of heading to the NFL as possibly the top tight end in the draft.

A year later, Butt will have even more accolades when he enters the NFL.