If you thought we were going to get some answers Monday from Jim Harbaugh as to who was going to be Michigan’s starting quarterback, the release of the Wolverines’ depth chart was disappointing.

Harbaugh did not name a starter on Michigan’s first depth chart of the season. Instead, he listed all Shane Morris OR Jake Rudock. Just like his rival in Ohio, Harbaugh isn’t revealing anything about his starting quarterback.

Rudock, the Iowa graduate transfer, was reportedly taking first-team reps at the team’s scrimmage that was viewed by select students.

Harbaugh did clear up some confusion at running back, where De’Veon Smith got the nod as the feature back ahead of Derrick Green and USC transfer Ty Isaac. Along with the injured Drake Johnson, Harbaugh said repeatedly that all could be in the mix in 2015.

In case there was any doubt, redshirt freshman Jabrill Peppers will start at strong safety. The Wolverines did not, however, give the former five-star recruit the guaranteed start at the two return positions. He was listed alongside Jehu Chesson at both spots.

Here’s a complete rundown of how the Wolverines will stack up at Utah on Thursday:


QB — Shane Morris or Jake Rudock

Alex Malzone or Wilton Speight

RB — De’Veon Smith

Derrick Green or Ty Isaac

FB — Joe Kerridge

Sione Houma or Henry Poggi

TE — Jake Butt

Khalid Hill or A.J. Williams

LT — Mason Cole

Logan Tuley-Tillman

LG — Ben Braden

David Dawson

C — Graham Glasgow

Patrick Kugler

RG — Kyle Kalis

Juwan Bushell-Beatty

RT — Erik Magnuson

Blake Bars

WR — Jehu Chesson or Grant Perry

Brian Cole

WR — Amara Darboh or Drake Harris

Maurice Ways


DE — Willie Henry

Taco Charlton

NT — Ryan Glasgow

Maurice Hurst

DT — Chris Wormley or Matt Godin

BUCK — Mario Ojemudia

Royce Jenkins-Stone

ILB — Desmond Morgan

Ben Gedeon

ILB — Joe Bolden

James Ross

OLB — James Ross

Allen Gant

CB — Jourdan Lewis

Jeremy Clark

FS — Jarrod Wilson

Delano Hill

SS — Jabrill Peppers

Dymonte Thomas or Wayne Lyons

CB — Channing Stribling

Brandon Watson


PK — Kenny Allen or Kyle Sychel

P — Kenny Allen or Blake O’Neill

PR — Jehu Chesson or Jabrill Peppers

Grant Perry

KR — Jehu Chesson or Jabrill Peppers

Grant Perry

LS — Scott Sypniewski

Andrew Robinson

HOLDER — Blake O’Neill or Jake Rudock