Last year, Peter Mortell’s self-awarded holder of the year honor was the most entertaining part of the college football awards show.

A year later, Mortell’s legacy is still alive and well. He came up with a watch list and everything.

In its first full year of existence, the award for college football’s holder of the year stayed within the B1G. Michigan’s Garrett Moores earned that exclusive honor.

He wasn’t on hand to accept his award, but he did share an acceptance speech from a Michigan lecture hall in front of his friends and family (there were only about three Michigan players in attendance).

But Moores appreciated college football’s most-special specialist award.

It’s hard to argue with the selection. Moores didn’t have a single botched snap for Michigan kicker Kenny Allen, who made his final 12 field goal attempts of the season.

Moores’ form is about as good as it gets:

Moores could have a future with those kind of holds. Perhaps his laces out mantra will serve Michigan well in the Orange Bowl.