Jabrill Peppers made Michigan history just by getting to New York, but he came up short of coming home with the ultimate prize.

The redshirt sophomore will not bring the Heisman Trophy back to Ann Arbor. Instead, college football’s most-coveted individual award will go back to Louisville with Lamar Jackson.

Peppers finished fifth in the voting with 11 first-place votes:

He was the first Michigan player to get to New York since Chris Perry in 2003. The Wolverines’ last Heisman Trophy winner was Charles Woodson, who took home the award in 1997.

Michigan’s 2016 do-it-all weapon might not have won the Heisman, but he’s been busy during awards season.

RELATED: Jabrill Peppers discusses idea of staying at Michigan, his Heisman vote

He’s been all over All-America teams by a variety of publications. Peppers also became the first player to receive three B1G individual awards. He earned the Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year, Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year and Rodgers-Dwight Return Specialist of the Year.

After playing 933 snaps at 15 different positions, Peppers won the Paul Hornung Award as the nation’s most-versatile player.

He was also a finalist for a variety of national honors, including the Walter Camp Player of the Year, Maxwell Award, Bednarik Award and the Ronnie Lott IMPACT Trophy.

While many assume that Peppers will declare early for the NFL draft, he said he hasn’t made any decisions about his future.

He’ll have a chance to add to his Michigan legacy in the Orange Bowl against Florida State.