Michigan State defensive end Kenny Willekes has been named a finalist for a prestigious national award that honors former walk-on players.

On Tuesday, the Burlsowrth Award released its three finalists for the honor, presented to the nation’s top former walk-on college football player. Willekes was on that list, along with Georgia kicker Rodrigo Blankenship and Cal safety Ashtyn Davis.

Brett McMurphy of Stadium tweeted out the three finalists on Tuesday.

Willekes has been one of the best defensive ends in the B1G over the last two years. In 2018, the Spartan lineman racked up 20.5 tackles for loss and 78 total stops, earning B1G Defensive Lineman of the Year honors.

This season, Willekes has registered 6.5 sacks, 15 quarterback hurries and 59 tackles on the year.

A winner will be chosen from the three finalists on Dec. 9 at 12:45 p.m. at a luncheon in Springdale, Arkansas.