Redshirt sophomore Tanner Morgan, the quarterback for the No. 17 Minnesota Golden Gophers, was added to the watch list for the Manning Award on Thursday.

Minnesota football’s official account noted the accomplishment on Twitter:

Beginning in 2004, the Manning Award has been presented annually to college football’s best quarterback as judged by the Sugar Bowl Committee and Archie, Eli and Peyton Manning.

Earning the starting job after sophomore Zack Annexstad was injured during their fall camp positional battle, Morgan has thrown for 1,623 yards, 16 touchdowns and just three interceptions.

Fifth in the nation in passing efficiency trailing only Oklahoma’s Jalen Hurts, LSU’s Joe Burrow, Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa and Ohio State’s Justin Fields, Morgan has been the driving force behind an offense scoring 36.4 points per game, 22nd in America.

The finalists for the Manning Award will be released on December 5, with the winner being announced following the CFP National Championship Game on January 13.

Off to their first 7-0 start since 1960, the Gophers host Maryland (3-4) on Saturday at 3:30PM ET on ESPN.