Nebraska Blackshirts have been handed out heading into the 2022 season opener!

With the team safely across the pond in Dublin, Ireland, the Huskers are gearing up for Saturday’s Week 0 opener against Northwestern. That also means it is time to know who will be Blackshirt honorees for the season.

Early Wednesday morning, Nebraska unveiled 9 recipients of the Blackshirts:

  • Myles Farmer
  • Garrett Nelson
  • Nick Henrich
  • Colton Feist
  • Luke Reimer
  • Quinton Newsome
  • Marques Buford Jr.
  • Caleb Tannor
  • Ty Robinson

That group includes some true defensive stalwarts for Scott Frost’s program, including 4 of the top 5 tacklers from the 2021 season. Reimer and Henrich combined for over 200 tackles last season and are back for another year in the middle of the defense.

Nelson is the team’s best-returning pass rusher with 11 TFL and 5 sacks, both team-high marks in 2021.

Newsome is one of the team’s best defensive backs with 57 total tackles and 4 passes defended.

We’ll see how the Blackshirts perform once game time rolls around on Saturday.