Each year, the Bednarik Award is given to the best defensive player in college football. Ohio State’s Chase Young was a finalist for the award.

And, well, he won it — to probably nobody’s surprise:

Young, in fact, is the first Buckeye to ever win the award. That’s hard to imagine considering how impressive some of Ohio State’s defenders have been over the years. But, Young isn’t like anybody else.

He’s that dominant.

RELATED: Chase Young is already one of only five DL to ever reach achievement regarding Heisman voting

In 11 games this year, Young has recorded 16.5 sacks and six forced fumbles. Again, he missed to contests this season. Yet, with that, he is still taking home awards aplenty.

Here are some of the awards Young has won this season:

  • B1G Defensive Player of the Year
  • B1G Defensive Lineman of the Year
  • Chicago Tribune Silver Football Award
  • Ted Hendricks Award
  • Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

Ohio sports betting apps are officially launching on January 1, 2023.

Pre-registration is now available at FanDuel Ohio for an extra $100 bonus. Go pre-register now.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.