The two names that continue to surface when it comes to the Heisman Trophy are Trevor Lawrence and Justin Fields. The quarterbacks at Clemson and Ohio State are the clear favorites to take home the most prestigious individual award in college football right now.

Who has the edge, though?

Bet $1 on NBA Finals, Get $200 in Bonus Bets

21+ and present in OH. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

BET $1, GET $200



ESPN’s Laura Rutledge believes that Fields has the better chance to claim the Heisman Trophy come December, citing Ohio State’s tough schedule as an advantage for the Buckeye gunslinger among the voters. Playing in the B1G East, along with a trip to Oregon (fingers crossed) is a pretty tough slate for Ohio State.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

Sports betting in Ohio is officially launching on January 1, 2023.

Pre-registration is now available at FanDuel Ohio for an extra $100 bonus. Take advantage now.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

“I would go ahead and say that Justin Fields wins the Heisman,” Rutledge said on Get Up. I think that is going to do more with the type of competition that Ohio State is going to have.”

Last season, Fields threw for 3,273 yards and completed 67.2 percent of his passes with 41 touchdown strikes and just three interceptions. He also added 484 rushing yards and 10 scores on the ground while leading the Buckeyes to a 13-1 record.

Rutledge’s pick goes against fellow ESPN personality and college football guru Paul Finebaum.

“I like Trevor Lawrence. He was the favorite last year,” Finebaum said. “He struggled, he tries too hard to be Tom Brady and Peyton Manning and Russell Wilson all wrapped into one. When he finally calmed down, he got into a rhythm. He got stymied in the championship game, but I think he’ll come back better than ever and his team is looking very good, has a chance to make a run to the playoffs.”

It’s pretty clear that Fields and Lawrence are the favorites to claim the Heisman Trophy next season. It should be a fun race to see who’s holding up the award next December.