The winner of the Heisman Trophy hasn’t even been announced yet, but already Ohio State has made history with the award.

Earlier this week, four finalists were announced for college football’s most prestigious award. Two of those finalists were from Ohio State:

  • Joe Burrow, QB, LSU
  • Jalen Hurts, QB, Oklahoma
  • Justin Fields, QB, Ohio State
  • Chase Young, DE, Ohio State

The selection of Fields and Young as finalists for the Heisman Trophy marks the first time in college football history that an offensive and defensive player from the same team have been selected in the same year. It just goes to show how loaded the Buckeyes are on both sides of the football.

Fields accounted for 50 touchdowns this season, throwing 40 touchdown passes with just one interception all year long. Young piled up 16.5 sacks this season, and also forced six fumbles on the year.

Despite great years from both, LSU quarterback Joe Burrow is expected to claim the award this year. We’ll find out on Saturday night.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

Sports betting in Ohio is officially launching on January 1, 2023.

Pre-registration is now open at FanDuel Ohio for an extra $100 bonus. Go pre-register now.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.