If Ohio State is going to win a national championship, it’s going to have to do so shorthanded.

13 Buckeyes will be out for Monday night’s game against Alabama. The team revealed the list of players who would be missing the game about an hour before kickoff from Miami.

This marks the second time in three games that Ohio State will be without a significant number of contributors for a game. Back in December, the Buckeyes were without nearly two dozen players in the B1G Championship Game.

Ohio State still found a way to defeat Northwestern 22-10 in Indianapolis to complete a 6-0 season and punch its ticket to the College Football Playoff.

Per Ohio State, the following players will be out for Monday night’s game due to COVID-19 issues, as well as other injuries:

  • CB Cam Brown
  • DL Jacolbe Cowan
  • K Dominic DiMaccio
  • DT Ty Hamilton
  • WR Jaylen Harris
  • K Blake Haubeil
  • OT Dawand Jones
  • LB Cade Kacherski
  • LB Mitchell Melton
  • DE Tyreke Smith
  • DT Tommy Togiai
  • S Kourt Williams
  • RB Miyan Williams

Ohio State will be without 13 players for the national championship, with the most significant losses being Tommy Togiai, Tyreke Smith and Blake Haubeil. How much will it affect the Buckeyes?

Kickoff is set for 8 p.m. ET.