Ohio State president Kristina Johnson has joined the College Football Playoff Board of Managers. A statement was released on Monday regarding her appointment.

Johnson will replace Penn State president Eric Barron as the B1G’s representative as Barron is retiring this year. The Board of Managers consists of representatives from all 10 FBS conferences, as well as Notre Dame.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

With the launch coming on January 1, 2023, Ohio sports betting apps are almost here.

FanDuel is now giving users a $100 bonus for Ohio pre-registration. Go pre-register now.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

“As someone who was afforded significant academic opportunities as a result of my participation in sports, I have long recognized the importance of collegiate athletics and championed access to them for every student who desires it,” Johnson said in a statement. “I am proud to have played a key role in preserving the 2020 Big Ten Conference fall season at the outset of the COVID-19 pandemic and am looking forward to continuing my advocacy and working with the other presidents and chancellors on the College Football Playoff Board of Managers.”

“We are delighted that President Johnson will serve on the Board of Managers,” College Football Playoff executive director Bill Hancock said. “President Johnson’s experience as a leader in higher education and as a former student-athlete will provide great perspective for the board.”

The College Football Playoff Board of Managers is responsible for budgeting, operations and policies relating to the event.

The College Football Playoff started in 2014. This will mark the ninth year of the four-team format.