Jeff Okudah has been a huge part of Ohio State’s defensive transformation for 2018 to 2019, and now he’s being recognized for his efforts.

On Monday, the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame named the 14 semifinalists for the annual Jim Thorpe Award, presented to the best defensive back in college football. Okudah was the only player to make the semifinalist list.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

Sports betting in Ohio is officially launching on January 1, 2023.

Pre-registration is now open at FanDuel Ohio for an extra $100 bonus. Go pre-register now.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

Through the first seven games, Okudah has been a factor in nearly every statistical category, he’s intercepted three passes and has three additional pass break-ups this season. He’s also registered 17 tackles, with one tackle for loss and a forced fumble.

Here are the 14 semifinalists:

  • Luq Barcoo, San Diego State, Sr.
  • Essang Bassey, Wake Forest, Sr.
  • Douglas Coleman III, Texas Tech, Sr.
  • Grant Delpit, LSU, Jr.
  • Alohi Gilman, Notre Dame, Sr.
  • AJ Green, Oklahoma State, Sr.
  • CJ Henderson, Florida, Jr.
  • Jevon Holland, Oregon, So.
  • Xavier McKinney, Alabama, Jr.
  • Tanner Muse, Clemson, *Gr.
  • Jeffrey Okudah, Ohio State, Jr.
  • JR Reed, Georgia, Sr.
  • Elijah Riley, Army, Sr.
  • Amik Robertson, Louisiana Tech, Jr.

A winner will be chosen by the selection committee. Three finalists will be selected and a winner will be chosen on Thursday, Dec. 12 during ESPN’s coverage of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.