The B1G has a number of different players up for awards this year. Given how prolific Ohio State’s offense has been, the Buckeyes are seeing players pop up for just about everything.

While Chris Olave is up for the Biletnikoff Award, Ohio State’s other 2 star wideouts are up for an award from their home state.

Jaxon Smith-Njigba (Rockwell, Texas) and Garrett Wilson (Austin, Texas) were announced as semifinalists for the Earl Campbell Award on Thursday. Since 2012, the award has gone to the top offensive player in Division I college football who best defines the characteristics of Earl Campbell. In order to be considered for the award, you had to be born in Texas or have gone to high school there.

Smith-Njigba certainly has the numbers to contend for the award. He has 1,027 yards receiving (2nd in the B1G) with 5 touchdowns in 2021. Wilson has 813 yards and 9 touchdowns. Former Ohio State running back J.K. Dobbins was the last player to win the award for the B1G.

Sixteen players were announced as semifinalists. The winner will be presented with the award on Jan. 12, 2022, in Tyler, Texas, Earl Campbell’s hometown.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

Ohio sports betting apps are officially launching on January 1, 2023.

Pre-registration is now available at FanDuel Ohio for an extra $100 bonus. Go pre-register now.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.