Ryan Day is adding some hardware to his personal trophy case after a memorable first season as the head coach of Ohio State.

The Football Writers Association of America recently named Day the First-Year Head Coach of the Year after leading the Buckeyes to a 13-1 record, a B1G championship and an appearance in the College Football Playoff. It was the first time Ohio State had played in the four-team playoff since the 2016 season.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

With the launch coming on January 1, 2023, Ohio sports betting apps are almost here. Pre-registration is now available at FanDuel Ohio for an extra $100 bonus. Learn more. Check out some of the best promotions available for bettors in Ohio.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

Ohio State didn’t just end the regular season undefeated, it was one of the most complete teams in college football. The Buckeyes owned the No. 1 scoring offense in the country and the No. 4 scoring defense nationally. The Buckeyes defeated ranked opponents Cincinnati, Wisconsin, Penn State and Michigan to get to 12-0 and earn a trip to the B1G Championship Game.

The Buckeyes defeated the Badgers the second time in Indianapolis to claim their third-straight B1G title. The previous two were won under former head coach Urban Meyer.

Day and the Buckeyes fell one victory short of competing for a national title, falling 29-23 to Clemson in the Fiesta Bowl. Ohio State owned a 16-0 lead in the first half, but a roaring comeback from the Tigers was too much to overcome.

Bringing in a top five recruiting class, Ohio State will be one of the favorites to return to the College Football Playoff in 2020.