The College Football Playoff field has been set, and three teams have a few things in common.

You might expect that thing to be that LSU, Ohio State and Clemson are all 13-0 and won their respective championship games, and while that’s true, that’s not the one thing we’re talking about. The similarity is actually with LSU, Ohio State and Oklahoma.

All three have reached the College Football Playoff with a transfer quarterback.

Justin Fields transferred from Georgia to Ohio State. Joe Burrow transferred from Ohio State to LSU. Jalen Hurts transferred from Alabama to Oklahoma. And now, all three will be competing for a national title.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

Sports betting in Ohio is officially launching on January 1, 2023.

Pre-registration is now available at FanDuel Ohio for an extra $100 bonus. Take advantage now.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

If any of those three lead their team to the national title, they will be the first transfer quarterback to win a championship in the College Football Playoff era since 2015, when Jake Coker did so with Alabama.

The lone non-transfer quarterback is Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence, who guided the Tigers to a title last year.

Hurts and the Sooners will take on Burrow and the Tigers in the Peach Bowl at 4 p.m. ET on Dec. 28. Fields and the Buckeyes will take on Lawrence and the (other) tigers at 8 p.m. ET on the same day.

We could see history made in the fifth year of the College Football Playoff.