Penn State head coach James Franklin has announced that eight players will represent the Nittany Lions as team captains during the 2020 season. The program released the statement on Friday.

There are four defensive players, three offensive players and one specialist who have been named captains for the upcoming campaign. The leaders for PSU this year are:

  • Sean Clifford, QB
  • Pat Freiermuth, TE
  • Michal Menet, OL
  • Lamont Wade, DB
  • Jonathan Sutherland, DB
  • Shaka Toney, DL
  • Jesse Luketa, LB
  • Jordan Stout, K

Franklin is entering his seventh season as the head coach at Penn State. Last year, the Nittany Lions finished the year with an 11-2 record, which included a Cotton Bowl victory over Memphis.

This season, PSU will open the year on the road against Indiana on Saturday, Oct. 24. The Nittany Lions will have their hands full the following weekend, as well, hosting Ohio State at Beaver Stadium in a game many believe will decide the B1G East.