Penn State is the 2022 Division I NCAA Wrestling champion. It is the program’s ninth national championship in the last 11 years.

The Nittany Lions were able to secure the national title before the final session of the championship matches on Saturday night. Penn State will enter the final session with 111.5 points.

Michigan, which enters the night in second place, cannot make up the difference in the evening session.

Penn State’s title is the ninth under head coach Cael Sanderson. It’s the program’s 10th overall. The Nittany Lions will still have 5 wrestlers competing for individual national championships, beginning at 7 p.m. ET.

Penn State’s five NCAA finalists competing during tonight’s 2022 National Finals will be Roman Bravo-Young at 133, Nick Lee at 141, Carter Starocci at 174, Aaron Brooks at 184 and Max Dean at 197.

The Nittany Lions other 8 titles in the last 10 seasons came in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019.