Second opinion? Enhanced angle of Michael Penix's 2-point conversion shows ball may have been short
It’s going to be a play that’s talked about for many years to come.
Indiana quarterback Michael Penix scored the go-ahead two-point conversion to lift Indiana over #8 Penn State in overtime 36-35.
Or did he? A close-up angle of the play shows that the ball may have actually been short of the pylon:
— A (@truthhurts_135) October 25, 2020
The play ended up going to replay review and the call was upheld on the field.
Mike Pereira, who’s the current rules analyst at FOX Sports, offered up his take on the play and why it was the correct ending to the game:
"It was a really tough call for the officials but it was a likely and right ending for a game that was fantastic all the way through."@MikePereira reacts to Indiana's game-winning two-point conversion vs. No. 8 Penn State ⬇️ pic.twitter.com/HZluK1XSKN
— FOX College Football (@CFBONFOX) October 25, 2020
There’s surely going to be more close plays like this that happen down the line and it’ll be interesting to see how those calls turn out.
Next up for Indiana is a date with Rutgers next Saturday at 3:30. Penn State will host Ohio State that same day at 7:30.