Let’s just be honest, none of us know what targeting is.

We may think we have a strong understanding of the rule, but as the definition seems to change game-by-game and official-by-official, it’s become quite clear that there’s no true understanding of how to properly handle those situations. The Fiesta Bowl provided us with another prime example.

Officials appeared to miss a pretty clear targeting call, as a Washington defender lowered his head and dove at Penn State quarterback Trace McSorley while he was sliding to the ground. It was a play that most would expect the Husky to be ejected.

Instead, there was no penalty for targeting, leaving the college football world in utter confusion.

Here’s a video of the play in question:

That seems like a pretty easy call. Then again, how should we know?

What do you think? Should there have been an ejection?