Paul Chryst was supposed to have a long, frustrating year. Wisconsin’s schedule was loaded with top-25 teams, and many thought the Badgers could start 2-5.

The same could be said for James Franklin, who had a rough September. Penn State was written off after a 2-2 start.

Now both teams will play in the B1G Championship and potentially a College Football Playoff spot on Saturday.

As a result, both Chryst and Franklin split B1G Coach of the Year honors.

Chryst’s honor was the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year Award, as voted on by fellow B1G coaches. Franklin, on the other hand, picked up the nod from the Dave McClain Coach of the Year as voted on by the media.

The honor is the first for both coaches in their short time in the B1G. Chryst is 20-5 in his two seasons in Madison while Franklin’s third season in State College was his best by far.

Last year’s B1G Coach of the Year honor went to Kirk Ferentz.