Wisconsin head coach Greg Gard was the winner of the B1G Coach of the Year award and he’s been named a finalist for the national honor, as well. The Naismith Trophy announced its finalists on Monday.

Gard is one of four finalists for the Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year. Also included are Texas Tech’s Mark Adams, Providence’s Ed Cooley and Arizona’s Tommy Lloyd.

Gard led Wisconsin to a 25-8 record during the season, which included a 15-5 mark in B1G play. The Badgers were picked to finish near the bottom of the league but were co-regular season champions, along with Illinois.

Wisconsin earned a No. 3 seed in the NCAA Tournament and defeated No. 14 seed Colgate in the first round. The Badgers’ season came to an end in the Round of 32, falling to No. 11 seed Iowa State.

This year marked Gard’s seventh as the leader of Wisconsin. He’s compiled a 144-78 record and an 84-50 record in league play. He’s led the Badgers to a pair of regular season B1G titles and has been named the conference’s Coach of the Year twice.

Wisconsin has also appeared in the NCAA Tournament five times in six seasons (excluding 2020 because of the pandemic).

A winner for the Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year will be announced on April 3.