Wisconsin Badgers tight end Jake Ferguson has officially been named a semifinalist for the John Mackey Award.

The award goes to the best tight end in college football throughout the season and Ferguson is one of eight players to be named a semifinalist.

Brevin Jordan of Miami, Kyle Pitts of Florida, Hunter Long of Boston College, Cade Otton of Washington, Derrick Deese Jr of San Jose State, Charlie Kolar of Iowa State, and Jalen Wydermeyer of Texas A&M are the other semifinalists for the award.

Ferguson may not win it due to Pitts down in Florida but there’s a good chance he will finish in the top three due to the season that he’s having for the Badgers.

So far, Ferguson has 23 receptions for 235 yards and four touchdowns in four games this season. His longest catch has gone for 34 yards.

Finalists for the award are expected to be announced on Dec. 22 with the winner being announced on ESPN on Jan. 7.