The B1G has gone over a decade since producing a Butkus Award-winning linebacker. In 2022, the conference has a strong group aiming to end that streak.

On Monday, the preseason watchlist for the Butkus Award was revealed with 51 linebackers featured. (51 mirroring the jersey number of the legendary Dick Butkus who the award is named after.) 6 B1G stars were named to the preseason list.

Iowa’s Jack Campbell – a semifinalist for the award in 2021 – was named alongside two of his teammates. Campbell was also voted as the preseason Defensive Player of the Year out of the B1G by the media.

Here is the group of linebackers out of the B1G:

  • Seth Benson, Iowa
  • Jack Campbell, Iowa
  • Calvin Hart Jr., Illinois
  • Jestin Jacobs, Iowa
  • Luke Reimer, Nebraska
  • Mariano Sori-Martin, Minnesota

Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Halloween with the finalists revealed Nov. 21. The winner will be revealed on Dec. 7.

The last linebacker out of the B1G to win the award was Ohio State’s James Laurinaitis in 2007. Georgia’s Nakobe Dean captured the award in 2021.