The All-Defensive and All-Freshman squads for the B1G have been announced, following the conclusion of the 2021-22 regular season.

Sports Betting in Big Ten Country

There is big news coming to the upcoming 2022-23 Big Ten football season (and NFL season). Ohio online sports betting and Maryland sports betting are on the way.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.

On Tuesday, the conference handed out the yearly individual awards and announced the selections for the All-B1G teams. Before diving into the All-Defensive and All-Freshman teams, here’s a look at the winners of the individual awards:

  • Player of the Year: Johnny Davis, Wisconsin
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Caleb McConnell, Rutgers
  • Sixth Man of the Year: Trevion Williams, Purdue
  • Freshman of the Year: Malaki Branham, Ohio State
  • Coach of the Year: Greg Gard, Wisconsin

You can view the first-, second- and third-team All-B1G selections here. Below is the players who made the cut as All-Defensive and All-Freshman picks:

B1G All-Defensive Team

  • EJ Liddell, Ohio State
  • Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana
  • Eric Hunter Jr., Purdue
  • Caleb McConnell, Rutgers
  • Trent Frazier, Illinois

B1G All-Freshman Team

  • Max Christie, Michigan State
  • Malaki Branham, Ohio State
  • Moussa Diabate, Michigan
  • Bryce McGowens, Nebraska
  • Chucky Hepburn, Wisconsin