Big Ten football schedules are set for the next 5 seasons. After this offseason’s reveal of a 16-team conference schedule, the B1G went back to the drawing board when the additions of Oregon and Washington brought the conference to 18 teams for 2024 and beyond.

The 2024-28 conference schedules were officially announced on Thursday. The B1G is going with the Flex Protect XVIII model. All programs will play 9 conference contests. The model guarantees that rotational opponents will meet no more than 3 times in a five-year period.

The schedules include 12 annual rivalry games designated as protected matchups by the B1G. Penn State notably does not have a set annual rivalry game. Here are the schedule graphics for the next 5 seasons, via


ESPN BET is now live in 17 states

Use promo code SATURDAY to get your $250 bonus


Football scheduling for a coast-to-coast 18-member league has prompted many discussions. The B1G shared considerations that went into the scheduling model:

  • Balance of annual travel by distance, regions of the conference, and time zones.
  • Maintaining control and flexibility as the college football postseason format evolves, with the goal to create access for programs into an expanded College Football Playoff.
  • Balance of historic competitiveness and recent competitive trends, including home/away balance of traditionally competitive schools.

Though divisions are not part of the expanded B1G, the Big Ten Championship Game will continue. It will feature the top 2 teams in the conference standings. The conference says tie-breaking procedures will be revealed at a later date.