On Thursday night, nine semifinalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy were announced.

Each year, the award goes to the best defensive players that are “selected for their IMPACT on their team both on and off the field. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity,” according to lottimpacttrophy.org.

Here are the nine semifinalists:

  • Derrick Brown, DT, Auburn
  • Cole Christiansen, LB, Army
  • Jordan Fuller, DB, Ohio State
  • Brandon Jones, DB, Texas
  • Keneth Murray, LB, Oklahoma
  • Chris Orr, LB, Wisconsin
  • Isaiah Simmons, LB, Clemson
  • Curtis Weaver, DE, Boise State
  • Evan Weaver, LB, Cal

Who’s missing? Well, what about Ohio State’s Chase Young?

Here’s the Lott Trophy’s tweet about the award, with the hashtag, #CharacterCounts:

If character counts, then maybe the Lott Trophy doesn’t want to even include Young in the discussion. After all, he did receive a two-game suspension for accepting a loan.

Whether you think Young’s suspension is justified at all, obviously the Lott Trophy has their reasoning for not including him.

It wasn’t because of his play on the field.

RELATED: Ryan Day talks Chase Young’s return for Penn State

Fuller, from Ohio State, and Orr, from Wisconsin, will have a chance to win the award, which will be presented on Dec. 15. You can find the Lott Trophy’s full post here.