USA Today released a list of each head coach in college football’s salary for the 2023 season Tuesday morning, and it gives an interesting look into how the Big Ten shakes out.

Ryan Day highlights the group at No. 4, making over $10.2 this season with a maximum bonus of $800,000.

Former Michigan State head coach Mel Tucker was in 2nd place in the Big Ten and 5th in the country, but he was fired for cause last week.


ESPN BET is now live in 17 states

Use promo code SATURDAY to get your $250 bonus


The lowest-paid coach in the Big Ten is Greg Schiano, who is set to make $4 million in 2023. Of course, keep in mind that because Northwestern in a private institution they are not required to publish David Braun’s salary.

Here’s a look at where each B1G coach stands:

  1. Ryan Day: $10.2 million
  2. Mel Tucker: $10 million
  3. James Franklin: $8.5 million
  4. Jim Harbaugh: $8.25 million
  5. Luke Fickell: $7.625 million
  6. Kirk Ferentz: $7 million
  7. Bret Bielema : $6.5 million
  8. PJ Fleck: $6 million
  9. Matt Rhule: $5.5 million
  10. Mike Locksley: $5.5 million
  11. Tom Allen: $4.51 million
  12. Ryan Walters: $4 million
  13. Greg Schiano: $4 million
  14. David Braun: N/A

James Franklin currently has the highest’s buyout in the conference. The Nittany Lions higher-ups would need to fork over $64 million to let him go, though we’re not sure why they’d want to any time soon with how Penn State has performed this season and in recent years.