With Penn State’s 2019 season just a week away, head coach James Franklin has announced the team captains for the upcoming year.

The Nittany Lions will have eight players serve as captains this season; four seniors, one junior and three sophomores will carry the honor. The program released a statement in an e-mail on Saturday afternoon.

“We have a great group of captains with a wide range of experiences,” Franklin said. “These eight guys have been tremendous representatives and leaders for our program. They live our core values and drive our culture daily. They have earned the respect of their teammates, coaches and staff. We are so proud to have this group of captains leading our team for 2019.”

RELATED: AP Voter Explains Why PSU Left Out of his Top 25

Penn State opens the season on Saturday, Aug. 31 at Beaver Stadium against Idaho. Below is the list of captains:


  • Blake Gillikin
  • Garrett Taylor
  • Cam Brown
  • Jan Johnson


  • Michal Menet


  • Sean Clifford
  • Pat Freiermuth
  • Jonathan Sutherland